SD64 Constituent Luncheon – April 28

Each year, the representatives of SD64 like to hold a luncheon to meet with their constituents (that’s you!). This year is no different, and Senator Cohen and Representatives Pinto and Murphy have invited the district to lunch on Tuesday, April 28. The event will run from 11:30am to 1:00pm, and will be held in Room 200 South of the State Office Building (note: this is a different room from prior years).

If you are interested in attending, contact Josh Ney in Senator Cohen’s office at to RSVP and order your lunch* (please place your order by Thursday, April 23).

*Box lunches are being ordered from Cecil’s Deli, though attendees are free to bring their own lunch. Box lunches are $10, with checks payable to the Cohen Volunteer Committee on the day of the luncheon.

Town Hall Meeting – April 12

Our SD64 legislators are having a town hall meeting on Sunday, April 12. Senator Cohen and Representatives Murphy and Pinto will be on hand to tell you what they’ve been up to at the Capitol. They also want to hear from members of the community on the issues that matter to you. This is a non-partisan event, but DFLers should definitely show up to hear what our excellent legislators have been working on!

Where: Mount Zion Temple, 1300 Summit Road
When: 1:30-3:00pm
Sunday, April 12

Representative Paymar Retirement Party – September 30

paymar-fundraiserRepresentative Paymar has done a wonderful job representing our district over the years, and we’re honoring his career with a retirement party and fundraiser this month. We’ll be celebrating at the home of Charles Stander, 574 Summit Avenue, here in St. Paul on Tuesday, September 30, from 7:00 to 9:00pm. Some previous communications had a different address, but 574 Summit is the correct address.

We have a long list of co-hosts who will be coming out to help us celebrate Michael Paymar, including:

Senator Dick Cohen
Speaker Paul Thissen
Majority Leader Erin Murphy
Ramsey County Attorney John Choi
Dave Pinto
Margaret Anderson Kelliher
Howard Orenstein
Ray Faricy
Ramsey County Commissioner Rafael Ortega

The planning committee is in the process of finding party sponsors. If you’re interested in being a sponsor, please contact Chris Haas at or Max Milstein at

Current platinum level sponsors include:

Bill Struszinksi
Christine Almeida

Other sponsors include:

Marcia Avner and Wy Spano
Doug Carnival
Ken Iosso
Andrea Sachs
Sharon Sudman
Rachel Nelson and Bill Totten
Elizabeth Wefel
Eric Celeste
Ellen Perrault
John Kavanaugh
Kevin Walli
Kelcey Johnson
Rich Ginsberg
Rolf Westgard
Christopher and Monica Haas

Thank you for supporting the SD64 DFL!

Our January Fundraiser was a smashing success! We had great food from Mancini’s, great speeches from too many people to name*, and great turnout from all of you!

Thank you to everyone who came out in the snow, but a special thank you to our co-hosts:

Platinum Co-Hosts
Cristine Almeida & Brian Gorecki
Rolf Westgard
Paul Cassidy
Grania McKiernan
Carole Faricy

Sharon Sudman
Dough Carnival
Eric & Greta Bergstrom
Gloria Zaiger
Dave Pinto
Matt Freeman
Beth Fraser
Melanie McMahon
Matt Bergeron
Philip Stoyke
Eric Celeste
Tim Flaherty
Marcia Avner & Wy Spano
Beth & Jon Commers
Rich Ginsberg
Lyn Burton
Bill Struszinski
Thomas & Marlene Kayser
Ken Iosso
Rafael E. Ortega
Kevin Walli
Kelsey Johnson
John Kavanaugh
Barbara Frey & Howard Orenstein
Brian Bergson
Elizabeth Emerson
John Knapp
Patti Cullen
John Curry
Bill Black
Toby Pearson
Ted Davis

*Just kidding! We heard from Mayor Chris Coleman, all the 64B candidates (Matthew Bergeron, Beth Fraser, Gloria Zaiger, Matt Freeman, Melanie McMahon, Greta Bergstrom, and Dave Pinto), Secretary of State candidate Steve Simon, Ramsey County Commissioner Rafael Ortega, and the always inspring Erin Murphy, Dick Cohen, and Michael Paymar.

Election Season Voter Contact

There are many, many opportunities to talk to voters. RSVP to and let us know what you will be at!


  • District wide doorknock! We are meeting at Macalester College at 1:30 pm on Saturday, Sept. 15. We will be meeting at CC206 (Campus Center on Grand & Snelling). Another district-wide doorknock will be at 1pm on Sunday, Sept. 30. We will go knocking on apartment doors with Obama for America at 1pm on Sunday 9/16. Meet at the Macalester Campus Center, room 206.
  • 64A Tuesdays: every week until GOTV at 5:30 pm (Erin Murphy’s house, 898 Osceola Ave)
  • 64B Thursdays: 5:30 – 9pm, 9/13 (Michael Paymar’s house, 2009 Juliet Ave) and 9/27 (Melanie McMahon’s house, 1266 Scheffer Ave).
  • Our next Flying Squad outing will be on Sunday, Sept. 23 at 11:30am. We will be doorknocking for Susan Kent and JoAnn Ward. We will meet at Erin Murphy’s house, 898 Osceola Ave. Another flying squad will be on 10/7.
Make phone calls
  • Daily phone banks at the DFL Saint Paul Field Office (545 West 7th Street) Sunday/Monday/Wednesday evenings: 5-9pm, Monday-Friday afternoons: 1-4pm
Voter Registration
  • SD65 Voter Registration Drive: 10am on Saturday, Sept. 22 at the Saint Paul Field Office, 545 West 7th.

A Celebration of HHH, 8/4

Our own State Senator Dick Cohen will serve as Master of Ceremonies as President Bill Clinton and Vice President Walter Mondale join many distinguished speakers at the dedication of the new Hubert H. Humphrey memorial in front of the Minnesota State Capitol.

Saturday, August 4
4:30pm (though it is recommended you arrive by 4pm)
Minnesota State Capitol Mall

Other prominent civic leaders speaking at the dedication include Governor Mark Dayton, U.S. Senator Amy Klobuchar, Governor Arne Carlson, Dr. Josie R. Johnson, and Hubert H. “Skip” Humphrey III, representing the Humphrey family.

Located on the southwest side of the Minnesota State Capitol Mall, the memorial will include a 7-foot bronze statue of Humphrey surrounded by gardens and slabs of granite inscribed with notable quotes from the former vice president, U.S. senator, and Minneapolis mayor.